(sold for $189.0)


1793, Netherlands, Utrecht. Large Silver 3 Gulden (60 Stuiver) Coin. 31.6gm!

Mint Year: 1793 Mint Place: Utrecht State: United Provinces Denomination: 3 Gulden (60 Stuivers) Reference: Davenport 1852, Delmonte 1150, KM-117.  Condition: A nice XF with dark toning in protected areas! Material: Silver (.920) Diameter: 39mm Weight: 31.6gm

Obverse: Standig togate personification of the Dutch Republic (Hollandia), wearing plummed helmet, holding reversed spear, topped by a hat and leaning on book, placed on a decorated column. Date (1793) below. Legend (motto) : HANC TVEMVR - HAC NITIMVR  / 1793 Translated:"This we defend, by this we strive!"

Reverse: Crowned shield of the United Provinces, splitting denomination (3-Gl.). Legend: MO : ARG : ORD : FOE : BELG : TRAI : Expanded:   "MOneta ORDinum FAEDERatorum BELGicarum TRAIectum" Translated: "Coin of government of the  federation of Belgium, Utrecht"

Utrecht,       city and municipality is the capital and most populous city of the       Dutch province of Utrecht. In 1579 the northern seven provinces   signed     the Union of Utrecht, in which they decided to join forces   against     Spanish rule. The Union of Utrecht is seen as the beginning   of the Dutch     Republic. In 1580 the new and predominantly Protestant   state   abolished   the bishoprics, including the one in Utrecht, which   had   become an   archbishopric in 1559. The stadtholders disapproved of   the   independent   course of the Utrecht bourgeoisie and brought the   city   under much more   direct control of the Holland dominated   leadership of   the republic. This   was the start of a long period of   stagnation of   trade and development   in Utrecht, an atypical city in   the new state,   still about 40% Catholic   in the mid-17th century, and   even more so   among the elite groups, who   included many rural   nobility and gentry   with town houses there. The   city, which was held   against its will in   the states of the Republic,   failed to defend   itself against the French   invasion in 1672 (the   Disaster Year). The   lack of structural   integrity proved to be the   undoing of the central   section of the   cathedral of St Martin church when   Utrecht was   struck by a tornado in   1674. The Treaty of Utrecht in 1713   settled   the War of the Spanish   Succession. In the early 19th century,   the   role of Utrecht as a   fortified town had become obsolete.

The Republic of the Seven United Netherlands (or "of the Seven United Provinces") (Republiek der Zeven Verenigde Nederlanden/Provinciën; also Dutch Republic or United Provinces in short, Foederatae Belgii Provinciae or Belgica Foederata in Latin) was a European republic between 1581 and 1795, in about the same location as the modern Kingdom of the Netherlands, which is the successor state.

Before 1581, the area of the Low Countries consisted of a number of duchies, counties, and independent bishoprics, some but not all of them part of the Holy Roman Empire. Today that area is divided between the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg and parts of France and Germany. The Low Countries in the 16th century roughly corresponded to the Seventeen Provinces covered by the Pragmatic Sanction of 1549 of Holy Roman Emperor Charles V.

Through marriage, war or sale, these states were acquired by the Habsburg emperor Charles V and his son, king Philip II of Spain. In 1568, the Netherlands, led by William I of Orange, revolted against Philip II because of high taxes, persecution of Protestants by the government, and Philip's efforts to modernize and centralize the devolved medieval government structures of the provinces. This was the start of the Eighty Years' War.

In 1579, a number of the northern provinces of the Netherlands signed the Union of Utrecht, in which they promised to support each other in their defence against the Spanish army. This was followed in 1581 by the Act of Abjuration, the declaration of independence in which the provinces officially deposed Philip II. 

The United Provinces first tried to choose their own lord, and they asked the Duke of Anjou (sovereign from 1581-1583) to rule them. Later, after the assassination of William of Orange (July 10, 1584), both Henry III of France and Elizabeth I of England declined the offer of sovereignty. However, the latter agreed to turn the United Provinces into a protectorate of England (Treaty of Nonsuch, 1585), and sent the Earl of Leicester as governor-general. This was not a success, and in 1588 the provinces became a Republic.

Only 1$ shipping for each additional item purchased!

type to read more
This coin has been sold for   $189.0

Notes: https://www.ebay.com/itm/373007447933 2020-04-07

Page Cache: http://st.coinshome.net/page-cache/78d8da08be0a4d3e94ac966594b136e1.html
Online collections - Toolbar
Posted by: anonymous
Additional views:
2018-11-04 - Historical Coin Prices
10 Kopeck USSR (1922 - 1991)
Coin prices from public sources
2019-05-30 - Historical Coin Prices
100 Franc Monaco Gold Charles III Prince of Monaco ...
Coin prices from public sources
You may be interested in ...
Dynasty tree and coins
Check yourself!

Coin Puzzle