1 Kreuzer Nassau (stato) ... > Storia > Difference
Data revisione 2015-04-05 01:44 (older) 2021-01-17 21:29 (newer)
Postato da
Revision status Verificata In attesa
Denominazione 1 Kreuzer 1 Kreuzer
Stato Germania Nassau (stato) (1806 - 1866)
Periodo 1810 1810
Metallo Rame
Codice sul catalogo
Descrizione - English Details about  GERMANY-NASSAU 1810L 1 Kreuzer VF

1808, Hesse-Nassau (Joint Coinage for Usingen & Weilburg). Copper Kreuzer Coin.

Mint Year: 1808
Denomination: 1 Kreuzer (thick flan!)
Reference: KM-16 (1-year type, listed under German States, Nassau).
Material: Copper
Diameter: 19mm
Weight: 3.98gm

Obverse: Crowned rampart shield with arms of Hesse-Nassau (rampart lion left).

Reverse: Value (*I*) above denomination (KREU=/=ZER.) and date (1808). All within wreath.

The Province of Hesse-Nassau (German: Provinz Hessen-Nassau) was a province of the Kingdom of Prussia from 1868 to 1918, then a province of the Free State of Prussia until 1944.

Hesse-Nassau was created as a consequence of the Austro-Prussian War of 1866 by combining the previously independent Hesse-Kassel (or Hesse-Cassel), the Duchy of Nassau, the Free City of Frankfurt, areas gained from the Kingdom of Bavaria, and areas gained from the Grand Duchy of Hesse (Hesse-Darmstadt; including part of the former Landgraviate of Hesse-Homburg). These regions were combined to form the province Hesse-Nassau in 1868 with its capital in Kassel and redivided into two administrative regions: Kassel and Wiesbaden.

On 1 April 1929, the Free State of Waldeck became a part of Hesse-Nassau after a popular vote and became part of the Kassel administrative region.

In 1935, the Nazi government abolished (de facto) all states, so the provinces held little meaning. In 1944, Hesse-Nassau was split into the provinces of Kurhessen (capital in Kassel) and Nassau (capital in Wiesbaden). In 1945, after the end of World War II, these two provinces were merged and combined with the neighbouring Hesse-Darmstadt to form the northern and western part of the newly founded state of Hesse. Parts of Nassau were also moved into the Rhineland-Palatinate.