50 Shilling Republic of Austria (1955 - ) Silver

Issue year(s):

Catalog reference:


1974, Austria. Silver 50 Schilling “Salzburg Cathedral Anniversary” Coin.

Mint year: 1974 Mint place: Vienna Reference: KM-2921. Denomination: 50 Schilling – 1200th Anniversary of the Salzburg Cathedral  Material: Silver (.900) Diameter: 34mm Weight: 19.9gm

Salzburg Cathedral (German: Salzburger Dom) is the seventeenth-century Baroque cathedral of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Salzburg in the city of Salzburg, Austria, dedicated to Saint Rupert and Saint Vergilius. Saint Rupert founded the church in 774 on the remnants of a Roman town, the cathedral was rebuilt in 1181 after a fire.  In the seventeenth century, the cathedral was completely rebuilt in the Baroque styleunder Prince-Bishop Wolf Dietrich Raitenau to its present appearance. Salzburg Cathedral still contains the baptismal font in which composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was baptized.


Austria, officially the Republic of Austria, is a federal republic and a landlocked country of over 8.66 million people in Central Europe. It is bordered by the Czech Republic and Germany to the north, Hungary and Slovakia to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The territory of Austria covers 83,879 square kilometres   (32,386 sq mi). The terrain is highly mountainous, lying within the Alps; only 32% of the country is below 500 metres (1,640 ft), and its highest point is 3,798 metres (12,461 ft). The majority of the population speak local Bavarian dialects of German language as their native language, and Austrian German in its standard form is the country’s official language. Other local official languages are Hungarian, Burgenland Croatian, and Slovene.

The origins of modern-day Austria date back to the time of the Habsburg dynasty when the vast majority of the country was a part of the Holy Roman Empire. From the time of the Reformation, many Northern German princes, resenting the authority of the Emperor, used Protestantism as a flag of rebellion. The Thirty Years War, the influence of the Kingdom of Sweden and Kingdom of France, the rise of the Kingdom of Prussia,   and the Napoleonic invasions all weakened the power of the Emperor in   the North of Germany, but in the South, and in non-German areas of the   Empire, the Emperor and Catholicism maintained control. During the 17th   and 18th centuries, Austria was able to retain its position as one of   the great powers of Europe and, in response to the coronation of Napoleon as the Emperor of the French, the Austrian Empire was officially proclaimed in 1804. Following Napoleon’s defeat, Prussia   emerged as Austria’s chief competitor for rule of a larger Germany.   Austria’s defeat by Prussia at the Battle of Königgrätz, during the Austro-Prussian War of 1866, cleared the way for Prussia to assert control over the rest of Germany. In 1867, the empire was reformed into Austria-Hungary. After the defeat of France in the 1870 Franco-Prussian War, Austria was left out of the formation of a new German Empire,   although in the following decades its politics, and its foreign policy,   increasingly converged with those of the Prussian-led Empire. During   the 1914 July Crisis that followed the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria, Germany guided Austria in issuing the ultimatum to Serbia that led to the declaration of World War I.

After the collapse of the Habsburg (Austro-Hungarian) Empire in 1918   at the end of World War I, Austria adopted and used the name the Republic of German-Austria (Deutschösterreich, later Österreich) in an attempt for union with Germany, but was forbidden due to the Treaty of Saint-Germain-en-Laye (1919). The First Austrian Republic was established in 1919. In the 1938 Anschluss, Austria was occupied and annexed by Nazi Germany. This lasted until the end of World War II in 1945, after which Germany was occupied by the Allies and Austria’s former democratic constitution was restored. In 1955, the Austrian State Treaty re-established Austria as a sovereign state, ending the occupation. In the same year, the Austrian Parliament created the Declaration of Neutrality which declared that the Second Austrian Republic would become permanently neutral.

Today, Austria is a parliamentary representative democracy comprising nine federal states. The capital and largest city, with a population exceeding 1.7 million, is Vienna.

type to read more


2 coins in the group

Collections: Add to Basket (1537 X 731pixels, file size: ~253K)
Posted by: anonymous  2018-07-01
CoinWorldTV 1974, Austria. Silver 50 Schilling "Salzburg Cathedral Anniversary" Coin. Mint year: 1974 Mint place: Vienna Reference: KM-2921. Condition: Minor spots, otherwise a nice UNCirculated! Denomination: 50 Schilling - 1200th Anniversary of the Salzburg Cathedral Material: Silver (. ...

Collections: Add to Basket Sold for: $255.0
Info: http://www.sixbid.com/browse.html?auction=2666&category=56105&lot ...
DEUTSCHLAND Bundesrepublik Deutschland Fehlprägungen 1 Euro-Cent o. J. (2002-). Mehrfache Zweifachprägung. 2.29 g. Sehr selten. FDC.

Collections: Add to Basket Sold for: $153.0
Info: http://www.sixbid.com/browse.html?auction=2666&category=56108&lot ...
FRANKREICH Königreich 5. Republik, 1959-. 10 Euro-Cent 1999. Erstprägung mit feinem Riffelrand. Offiziell in der Münzstätte entwertet. 4.08 g. Sehr selten. FDC.

Collections: Add to Basket Sold for: $60.0
Info: http://www.noble.com.au/auctions/lot/?id=305014 Estimate $100 S ...
GEORGE VI, shilling, 1952. Virtually uncirculated.
You may be interested in following coins
100 Krone Czechoslovakia (1918-1992) Silver
100 Krone Czechoslovakia (1918-1992) Silver
group has   4 coins / 4 prices
50 Shilling Republic of Austria (1955 - ) Silver
50 Shilling Republic of Austria (1955 - ...
group has   5 coins / 4 prices
25 Shilling Republic of Austria (1955 - ) Silver Maria Theresa of Austria (1717 - 1780)
25 Shilling Republic of Austria (1955 - ...
group has   16 coins / 15 prices
2023-02-01 - New coin is added to 1 Ducat Holy Roman Empire (962-1806) / Austria Gold Rudolf ...

    1 Ducat Holy Roman Empire (962-1806) / Austria Gold Rudolf ...
group has    2 coins

Holy Roman Empire, Habsburg Empire (1526-1804) State Austria,gold,1592,Rudolf II, Holy Roman Emperor (1552 - 1612) ,
2023-06-14 - Live Coin Catalog's improvements / coins uploading

100 coins were uploaded from 2023-06-07 to 2023-06-14
One of them is:

You may be interested in ...
Dynasty tree and coins
Check yourself!

Coin Puzzle
Coins Prices