500 Mill Cyprus Copper/Nickel

500 Mill
Issue year(s):

Catalog reference:

1963, Cyprus (Republic). Large Copper-Nickel 500 Mils Coin. Uncirculated!

Mint Year: 1970 Reference: KM-63. Condition: Uncirculated! Denomination: 500 Mils Material: Copper-Nickel Weight: 22.62gm Diameter: 36mm

Cyprus (Republic of Cyprus (Greek: Κυπριακή Δημοκρατία, translit. Kypriakí Demokratía; Turkish: Kıbrıs Cumhuriyeti), is an island country in the Eastern Mediterranean and the third largest and third most populous island in the Mediterranean. It is located south of Turkey, west of Syria and Lebanon, northwest of Israel and Palestine, north of Egypt, and southeast of Greece.

The earliest known human activity on the island dates to around the 10th millennium BC. Archaeological remains from this period include the well-preserved Neolithic village of Khirokitia, and Cyprus is home to some of the oldest water wells in the world. Cyprus was settled by Mycenaean Greeks in two waves in the 2nd millennium BC. As a strategic location in the Middle East, it was subsequently occupied by several major powers, including the empires of the Assyrians, Egyptians and Persians, from whom the island was seized in 333 BC by Alexander the Great. Subsequent rule by Ptolemaic Egypt, the Classical and Eastern Roman Empire, Arab caliphates for a short period, the French Lusignan dynasty and the Venetians, was followed by over three centuries of Ottoman rule between 1571 and 1878 (de jure until 1914).

Cyprus was placed under British administration based on Cyprus Convention in 1878 and formally annexed by Britain in 1914. While Turkish Cypriots made up 18% of the population, the partition of Cyprus and creation of a Turkish state in the north became a policy of Turkish Cypriot leaders and Turkey in the 1950s. Turkish leaders for a period advocated the annexation of Cyprus to Turkey as Cyprus was considered an “extension of Anatolia” by them; while since the 19th century, the majority Greek Cypriot population and its Orthodox church had been pursuing union with Greece, which became a Greek national policy in the 1950s. Following nationalist violence in the 1950s, Cyprus was granted independence in 1960. In 1963, the 11-year intercommunal violence between Greek Cypriots and Turkish Cypriots started, which displaced more than 25,000 Turkish Cypriots and brought the end of Turkish Cypriot representation in the republic. On 15 July 1974, a coup d'état was staged by Greek Cypriot nationalists and elements of the Greek military junta in an attempt at enosis, the incorporation of Cyprus into Greece. This action precipitated the Turkish invasion of Cyprus,20 which led to the capture of the present-day territory of Northern Cyprus the following month, after a ceasefire collapsed, and the displacement of over 150,000 Greek Cypriots and 50,000 Turkish Cypriots. A separate Turkish Cypriot state in the north was established by unilateral declaration in 1983; the move was widely condemned by the international community, with Turkey alone recognizing the new state. These events and the resulting political situation are matters of a continuing dispute.

The Cyprus Republic has de jure sovereignty over the island of Cyprus, as well as its territorial sea and exclusive economic area, according to international law (except for the British Overseas Territory of Akrotiri and Dhekelia, administered as Sovereign Base Areas, 2.8% of the territory). However, the Republic of Cyprus is de facto partitioned into two main parts: the area under the effective control of the Republic, located in the south and west, and comprising about 59% of the island’s area; and the north, administered by the self-declared Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, covering about 36% of the island’s area. Another nearly 4% of the island’s area is covered by the UN buffer zone. The international community considers the northern part of the island as territory of the Republic of Cyprus occupied by Turkish forces. The occupation is viewed as illegal under international law, amounting to illegal occupation of EU territory since Cyprus became a member of the European Union.

Cyprus is a major tourist destination in the Mediterranean. With an advanced, high-income economy and a very high Human Development Index, the Republic of Cyprus has been a member of the Commonwealth since 1961 and was a founding member of the Non-Aligned Movement until it joined the European Union on 1 May 2004. On 1 January 2008, the Republic of Cyprus joined the eurozone.

type to read more


1 coins in the group

Collections: Add to Basket (1537 X 742pixels, file size: ~237K)
Posted by: anonymous  2019-04-29
CoinWorldTV 1963, Cyprus (Republic). Large Copper-Nickel 500 Mils Coin. Uncirculated! Mint Year: 1970 Reference: KM-63. Condition: Uncirculated! Denomination: 500 Mils Material: Copper-Nickel Weight: 22.62gm Diameter: 36mm Cyprus (Republic of Cyprus (Greek: Κυπριακή Δημοκρατία, t ...

Collections: Add to Basket Sold for: $56.0
Info: http://www.ebay.com/itm/152729918787 2017-10-11
CoinWorldTV 1926, French Indo-China. Silver Piastre (Trade Dollar) Coin. Lustre AU++ Mint Year: 1926 Reference: KM-5a.1. Mint Mark: A (Paris Mint) Denomination: Piastre (Trade Coin) Cond ...

Collections: Add to Basket Sold for: $45.0
Info: https://www.ebay.com/itm/153049722108 2018-06-11
CoinWorldTV 1922, French Indo-China. Silver Piastre (Trade Dollar) Coin. Heaton's mint! Mint Year: 1922 Reference: KM-5a.3. R! Denomination: Piastre (Trade Coin) Mint Place: Heaton´s mint (Bi ...

Collections: Add to Basket Sold for: $97.0
Info: https://www.ebay.com/itm/372324936874 2018-06-11
CoinWorldTV 1901, French Indo-China. Large Silver Piastre (Trade Dollar) Coin. Cleaned AU! Mint Year: 1901 Mint Mark: A (Paris) Reference: KM-5a.1. Denomination: Piastre (Trade Coin) Conditio ...
You may be interested in following coins
50 Pound Republic of Cyprus (1960 - ) Gold
50 Pound Republic of Cyprus (1960 - ) Gold
group has   10 coins / 10 prices
1 Stiver Sri Lanka/Ceylon / Kingdom of Great Britain (1707-1801) / United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (1801-1922) Copper
1 Stiver Sri Lanka/Ceylon / Kingdom of G ...
group has   7 coins / 5 prices
45 Piastre British Cyprus (1914–1960) Silver George V of the United Kingdom (1865-1936)
45 Piastre British Cyprus (1914–1960) Si ...
group has   25 coins / 23 prices
2023-12-01 - New coin is added to 1 Mark German Empire (1871-1918) Silver

    1 Mark German Empire (1871-1918) Silver
group has    100 coins / 87 prices

GERMANY 1 Mark 1909 G - Silver 0.900 - Wilhelm II. - VF - 4236
2023-11-22 - Live Coin Catalog's improvements / coins grouping

133 coins were grouped from 2023-11-15 to 2023-11-22
One of them is:

    4 Heller Free Imperial City of Aachen (1 ...
group has    5 coins / 107 prices

Aachen, Städtische Prägungen 4 Heller 1753. Krumbach 196.53. Vorzüglich
You may be interested in ...
Dynasty tree and coins
Check yourself!

Coin Puzzle
Coins Prices