(sold for $56.0)


1662, Netherlands, Utrecht. Copper "Commercial Alliance w. England & France" Medal.

Condition: XF! Mint Year: 1662 Mint Place: Utrecht Reference: Dugniolle 4185; Pas 246. R! Denomination: Medal - The Commercial Alliance between England, France and the United Provinces. Material: Copper Diameter: 35mm Weight: 8.13gm

Obverse: Lion of the Netherlands, holding erect in its right a sheaf of arrows, and in its left paw a pair of scales. Date (1662) below. Legend: (shield of Utrecht) NON TELIS (PRIMIS BELGI SEPTEMPLICIS ARMIS)

Reverse: Arms of the Seven Provinces joined by ribbons around central beaver hat. Legend: * SED CONSTANT LIBRA LIBERA REGNA PARI


The Republic of the Seven United Netherlands (or "of the Seven United Provinces") (Dutch Republic or United Provinces in short, Foederatae Belgii Provinciae or Belgica Foederata in Latin) was a European republic between 1581 and 1795, in about the   same location as the modern Kingdom of the Netherlands, which is the   successor state.

Before 1581, the area of the Low Countries consisted   of a number of duchies, counties, and independent bishoprics, some but   not all of them part of the Holy Roman Empire. Today that area is   divided between the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg and parts of France   and Germany. The Low Countries in the 16th century roughly corresponded   to the Seventeen Provinces covered by the Pragmatic Sanction of 1549 of   Holy Roman Emperor Charles V.

Through marriage, war or sale, these states were   acquired by the Habsburg emperor Charles V and his son, king Philip II   of Spain. In 1568, the Netherlands, led by William I of Orange, revolted   against Philip II because of high taxes, persecution of Protestants by   the government, and Philip's efforts to modernize and centralize the   devolved medieval government structures of the provinces. This was the   start of the Eighty Years' War.

In 1579, a number of the northern provinces of the   Netherlands signed the Union of Utrecht, in which they promised to   support each other in their defence against the Spanish army. This was   followed in 1581 by the Act of Abjuration, the declaration of   independence in which the provinces officially deposed Philip II.   

The United Provinces first tried to choose their own lord, and they   asked the Duke of Anjou (sovereign from 1581-1583) to rule them. Later,   after the assassination of William of Orange (July 10, 1584),   both Henry III of France and Elizabeth I of England declined the offer   of sovereignty. However, the latter agreed to turn the United Provinces   into a protectorate of England (Treaty of Nonsuch, 1585), and sent the   Earl of Leicester as governor-general. This was not a success, and in   1588 the provinces became a Republic.

Only 1$ shipping for each additional coin purchased!

type to read more
This coin has been sold for   $56.0

Notes: https://www.ebay.com/itm/373006369554 2020-04-06

Page Cache: http://st.coinshome.net/page-cache/8952ed889713478eba4eec583bdd2bf0.html
Online collections - Toolbar
Posted by: anonymous
Additional views:
2018-12-05 - Historical Coin Prices
3 Shilling United Kingdom Silver George III (1738-1820)
Coin prices from public sources
2018-10-24 - Historical Coin Prices
1 Dinar Serbia Silver
Coin prices from public sources
You may be interested in ...
Dynasty tree and coins
Check yourself!

Coin Puzzle