5 Reichsmark    (sold for $336.0)


1927-F, Germany (Weimar).  Silver 5 Mark "Tubingen University" Coin. NGC MS-61!

Mint Year: 1927 Mint Place: Stuttgart (F) Reference: KM-54 ($725 in UNC!). Condition: Certified and graded by NGC as MS-61! Denomination: 5 Mark - 450th Anniversary fo the Tubingen University   Diameter: 37mm Material: Silver Weight: 25gm

Obverse: Armored bust of Eberhard I "the Bearded" of Wurttemberg left. Mint initial (F), flanked by olive-sprays below. Legend: 450 JAHRE UNIVERSITÄT TÜBINGEN (decorative deer´s horn) EBERHARD IM BART (decorative deer´s horn) Translated: 450 Years University of Tubingen / Eberhard "the Bearded

Reverse:Heraldic eagle of the German Empire. Legend: DEUTSCHES  REICH 1927 + FÜNF REICHSMARK +

Eberhard I of Württemberg (11 December 1445 – 24 February 1496). From 1459 until 1495 he was Count Eberhard V. From July 1495 he was the first Duke of Württemberg. He is also known as Eberhard im Bart (Eberhard the Bearded). In 1477 Eberhard, whose motto was attempto ("I dare"), founded the University of Tübingen. He ordered the expulsion of all Jews living in Württemberg. He invited the Brethren of the Common Life and the community of devotio moderna to his country and founded collegiate churches in Urach, Dettingen an der Erms, Herrenberg,   Einsiedel near Tübingen and Tachenhausen. He took interest in reforms   of the church and monasteries. Despite not being able to speak Latin he   held education in high esteem and had a great number of Latin texts   translated into German. Parts of his large library have been preserved.   Finally on December 14, 1482, he achieved the re-unification of the two   parts of Württemberg, Württemberg-Urach and Württemberg-Stuttgart, with the Treaty of Münsingen. He moved the capital to Stuttgart and ruled the re-united country. In the same year Pope Sixtus IV awarded him the Golden Rose. In 1492 he was awarded the Order of the Golden Fleece, by Maximilian I, then King of Germany. Johannes Nauclerus, a humanist and historian, served at his court. Eberhard died at Tübingen in 1496.

Eberhard Karls University, Tübingen (German: Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, sometimes called the "Eberhardina Carolina") is a public research university located in the city of Tübingen, Baden-Württemberg. It is one of Germany's most famous and oldest universities, internationally noted in medicine, natural sciences, and the humanities. In the area of German Studies (German: Germanistik) it has been ranked first among all German universities for many years, and is known as a centre for the study of theology and religion. Tübingen is one of five classical "university towns" in Germany; the other four being Marburg, Göttingen, Freiburg and Heidelberg. The university is associated with some Nobel laureates, especially in the fields of medicine and chemistry.

The University of Tübingen was founded in 1477 by Count Eberhard V (Eberhard im Bart, 1445–1496), later the first Duke of Württemberg, a civic and ecclesiastic reformer who established the school after becoming absorbed in the Renaissance revival of learning during his travels to Italy. Its first rector was Johannes Nauclerus.

Its present name was conferred on it in 1769 by Duke Karl Eugen who appended his first name to that of the founder (Karls being the possessive form of Karl). The university later became the principal university of the kingdom of Württemberg. Today, it is one of nine state universities funded by the German federal state of Baden-Württemberg.

The University of Tübingen has a history of innovative thought, particularly in theology, in which the university and the Tübinger Stift are famous to this day. Philipp Melanchthon (1497–1560), the prime mover in building the German school system and a chief figure in the Protestant Reformation, helped establish its direction. Among Tübingen's eminent students (and/or professors) have been the astronomer Johannes Kepler; the economist Horst Köhler (President of Germany); Joseph Ratzinger (Pope Benedict XVI), poet Friedrich Hölderlin, and the philosophers Friedrich Schelling and Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel. "The Tübingen Three" refers to Hölderlin, Hegel and Schelling, who were roommates at the Tübinger Stift. Theologian Helmut Thielicke revived postwar Tübingen when he took over a professorship at the   reopened theological faculty in 1947, being made administrative head of   the university and President of the Chancellor's Conference in 1951.

The university rose to the height of its prominence in the middle of   the 19th century with the teachings of poet and civic leader Ludwig Uhland and the Protestant theologian Ferdinand Christian Baur,   whose circle, colleagues and students became known as the "Tübingen   School," which pioneered the historical-critical analysis of biblical   and early Christian texts, an approach generally referred to as "higher criticism." The University of Tübingen also was the first German university to establish a faculty of natural sciences, in 1863. DNA was discovered in 1868 at the University of Tübingen by Friedrich Miescher. Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard,   the first female Nobel Prize winner in medicine in Germany, also works   at Tübingen. The faculty for economics and business was founded in 1817   as the "Staatswissenschaftliche Fakultät" and was the first of its kind   in Germany.

In 1966, Joseph Ratzinger, who would later become Pope Benedict XVI, was appointed to a chair in dogmatic theology at Tübingen, where he was a colleague of Hans Küng.

In 1970 the university was restructured into a series of faculties as independent departments of study and research after the manner of French universities.

The university made the headlines in November 2009 when a group of   left-leaning students occupied one of the main lecture halls, the   Kupferbau, for several days. The students' goal was to protest tuition   fees and maintain that education should be free for everyone.

In May 2010 Tübingen joined the Matariki Network of Universities (MNU) together with Dartmouth College (USA), Durham University (UK), Queen's University (Canada), University of Otago (New Zealand), University of Western Australia (Australia) and Uppsala University (Sweden).

Only 1$ shipping for each additional coin purchased!

type to read more
This coin has been sold for   $336.0

Notes: https://www.ebay.com/itm/372520837729 2018-12-08

Page Cache: http://st.coinshome.net/page-cache/e7cd792b7594442e92ff3bc742f46869.html
Online collections - Toolbar
Posted by: anonymous
Coin Group
 Denomination: 5 Reichsmark
 Metal: Silver
 State: Weimar Republic (1918-1933)
 Person: Eberhard I, Count of Württemberg
 Catalog reference:
Description:   English
Coin variations: 53 instance(s)
Additional views:
You may be interested in following coins
3 Reichsmark Weimar Republic (1918-1933) Silver
3 Reichsmark Weimar Republic (1918-1933) ...
group has   34 coins / 34 prices
3 Mark / 3 Reichsmark Weimar Republic (1918-1933) Silver
3 Mark / 3 Reichsmark Weimar Republic (1 ...
group has   25 coins / 24 prices

With executives, avail immediate solution for cash app dispute hassles

Want to fix the cash app dispute hassle? Want to get a refund from the merchant? If yes then contact the experts of the cash app support team to avail quick guide from all the users. Seek professionals’ help directly via live chat to overcome this problem. Call them for reliable solutions. 

2021-09-17 - New coin is added to 5 Dinar Serbia Silver

    5 Dinar Serbia Silver
group has    11 coins / 11 prices

1879,Jugoslawien-Serbien. Milan I. (Milan IV.) 1868-1882-1889. 5 Dinara 1879. K.M. 12. Kleine Kratzer und Randfehler, sehr schön.
You may be interested in ...
Dynasty tree and coins
Check yourself!

Coin Puzzle
Coins Prices